PARALLEL IMPORTS ON BOOKS – “Realities of an Unpublished Writer” by Angela Sunde

I am an unpublished writer. To be published, a writer must send their manuscript to a publishing house. This is called an unsolicited manuscript.

j0439385Unsolicited manuscripts go on a pile called the ‘slush pile’ and it takes the publisher about 6 months to get through the pile and around to reading them (Qld Writers Centre, Publishers and Agents seminar). After 6 months you may receive a reply.

I suspect the slush pile of US and UK publishers will be even higher and take even longer, because of their greater population. So there’s little chance for Australians like me there.

If the PIRs are dropped, Australian publishing houses will not be willing to invest in emerging authors like myself.

I have already had an email from an Australian literary agent regarding my picture book manuscript (which she loved) saying that Australian publishers are ‘pulling back’ on the publication of picture books. Because of the economic situation and the threat of PIRs being lifted, they are unwilling to invest in new, unproven talent.

And I will have even less chance in the US and UK, because my work has an Australian flavour.

3 thoughts on “PARALLEL IMPORTS ON BOOKS – “Realities of an Unpublished Writer” by Angela Sunde

  1. Every day, I count my blessings in this respect – my fantasy romance trilogy passed aquisitions at a major publisher on the very day that the Productivity Commission released the report. I could well be one of the last newbies to get this sort of support and financial investment. I hope that isn’t the case, for you and for all my fabulously talented writing friends.

    I know one major US sci fi publisher that has unsolicited submissions says you can query us a year after to see how things are going. That’s a long time to wait, particularly to be knocked back and particularly when so many publishers frown on simultaneous submissions.

  2. One senior US editor recently spoke of his company, one of the very few US houses taking unsolicited submissions, having something like a three year wait on the slushpile. I’ll try to find the comment and post a link to it.

  3. I’m in the same boat. I’m also an unpublished writer. I write junior fiction and my unsolicited manuscript has been with a publisher for six months. I doubt they will take on new authors if the PIR’s are dropped.

    I’ve worked hard on my series and I’ve now finished editing the second book, but what happens now?

Leave a Reply

